Written by: Dan Gladman

Follow: @dgontheroad

Brampton Honey Badgers
Established in 2018, originally as Hamilton Honey Badgers
Owner: Richard Petko
Home venue: CAA Centre, Brampton
Won CEBL championship in 2022
At least 6 players from the Greater Toronto and Hamilton area will play for Honey Badgers this year

Calgary Surge
Established in 2018, originally as Guelph Nighthawks
Owners: Usman Tahir Jutt, Jason Ribeiro
Home venue: WinSport Event Centre, Calgary
CEBL runner-up in 2023
Surge signed 4-year CEBL veteran Mathieu Kamba who attended Bishop McNally High School in Calgary

Edmonton Stingers
Established in 2018
Owners: James Burns, Manjit Minhas, Ravinder Minhas, Taranvir Vander
Home venue: The Flair Airlines Hangar at the Edmonton Expo Centre, Edmonton
Won CEBL championship in 2020 and 2021
Edmonton-born Head Coach and General Manager Jordan Baker attended University of Alberta and was a member of both Stingers championship teams

Montreal Alliance
Established in 2021
Owner: Richard Petko
Home venue: Verdun Auditorium, Montreal
Have yet to qualify for post season
Montreal-born General Manager Joel Anthony was a member of NBA champion Miami Heat teams in 2012 and 2013

Niagara River Lions
Established in 2015 (in National Basketball League of Canada)
Owner: Richard Petko
Home venue: Meridian Centre, St.Catharines, Ontario
Qualified for post season in all five seasons in CEBL, played in Championship game in 2021
Head Coach and General Manager Victor Raso won national university championships as captain for Carleton in 2013 and 2014

Ottawa Blackjacks
Established in 2019
Owner: Richard Petko
Home venue: TD Place Arena, Ottawa
Qualified for post season in all four seasons in CEBL
General Manager Jevohn Shepherd played in 2009 NCAA Tournament for Michigan and represented Canada at 2010 FIBA World Championship in Turkey

Saskatchewan Rattlers
Established in 2018
Owner: Richard Petko
Home venue: SaskTel Centre, Saskatoon
Won inaugural CEBL Championship in 2019
General Manager Barry Rawlyk coached at University of Saskatchewan and Holy Cross High School

Scarborough Shooting Stars
Established in 2021
Owners: Nico Carino, Sam Ibrahim
Home venue: Toronto Pan Am Sports Centre, Toronto
Won CEBL Championship in 2023
3-year veteran Cat Barber is the CEBL’s all-time leader in regular season and post season points

Embedded Image
Ottawa's Deng Adel has his shot blocked by Scarborough's Kalif Young. Source: CEBL

Vancouver Bandits
Established in 2018, originally the Fraser Valley Bandits
Owners: Kevin Dhaliwal, Brian Slusarchuk
Home venue: Langley Events Centre, Langley, BC
Played in CEBL Championship Game in 2020
3-year veteran Duane Notice played in 2017 Final Four for South Carolina and was Southeastern Conference Sixth Man of the Year in 2016

Winnipeg Sea Bears
Established in 2022
Owner: David Asper
Home venue: Canada Life Centre, Winnipeg
Set league records for regular season attendance and single game attendance in inaugural season (2023)
Teddy Allen was the 2023 CEBL Player of the Year and set the league scoring mark for most points in a season